Can already assigned licenses be reset or released for use on a different site?
Sometimes. When you buy a license and download, that is the site the license is assigned to and expected to be used for.
If the domain name for the site changes (i.e. the MODX installation is moved or the domain pointer is updated), you can transfer a license through the invalid licenses page. There is no limit to this type of transfer, where the same site (for the same client/project) is simply moved.
In cases where you would like a license to be reused on an unrelated site from the one it was originally assigned to, we allow that when all of the following conditions are met:
- The license in question is a standard license - it's not part of an (expired) unlimited license subscription, and not a development license either.
- The license was purchased recently (less than a year ago)
- The package has been uninstalled from the site the license is currently assigned to, or the domain is no longer available.
If these conditions are not met, you'll most likely need to purchase a new license for your new project. If we were to allow unlimited reuse of license, that would essentially mean offering unlimited refunds, and we'd soon go out of business.
There are 2 exceptions to this rule:
- If you paid separately for development and production copies of a site many years ago (pre-2017), where the development domain has access to a free development license today, we'll gladly reset that for you.
- If you're building a new site for a specific client, which replaces an older site site for that same client that you also built, we may release the old license for you. We do need to, with some certainty, identify that the clients are in fact the same, and may decline if that can't be confirmed.
If you have questions or want to request a reset, please contact support.